This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Senior School news

Pupils congratulated in Deveson Music Prize 2019

19 June 2019

On Monday 17th June, musicians from throughout the senior school gathered in the Chapel to take part in the annual Deveson Music Prize. The competition is for instrumentalists and singers and there were some outstanding performances, with pupils playing and singing a wide variety of pieces.

The guest adjudicator was Stacey Kurtz Campkin, who has worked in schools and The Royal Opera House in roles which focused on developing music in the community. Her current role is Head of Aldeburgh Young Musicians. She congratulated pupils on their "Great musical flair and musicianship!", praising them for being so advanced and confident in a performing situation.

Well done to everyone who took part. The list of winners and highly commended performers is below:

Lower 4 prize

Winner: Colette Maxwell-Preston (cello)
Highly commended - Yohan Saravanamuttu (piano), Grace Yeo (piano) and Yara Kherbeck (guitar)

Junior prize

Joint winners: Sephie Andrews (piano) and Amelia Polansky (piano)
Highly commended: Amy Griffiths (voice) and Adam Chillingworth (organ)

Intermediate prize

Winner: Brooke Elley (voice)
Highly commended: Bethan Callow (flute), Charlotte Pollard (voice), George Corson (piano) and Harvey Sillitoe (flute)

Senior prize

Winner: James Thistlewood (trombone)
Highly commended: Adam Possener (piano), Katja Ruda (violin), Amy Buck (clarinet) and Alice Wollocombe (voice)