Senior School news

Keeping Track Of The Cross Country Club

27 March 2024

The Cross Country Club have had a successful and enjoyable term of running. In the City Schools’ and Norfolk Schools’ events, U3 pupils Samuel and Emi shone, showing that the future is bright for running at Norwich School. There were brilliant performances too from L4’s Nona Griffiths, Eva Morrell, Jack Leary and Rory Normanton. In the Norfolk Championships at Wymondham College, Niamh McAuley secured 10th place and Ruby Ivie, Herbie Andrews and Edward Latter Casas also had impressive, muddy runs; Edward completing half the course in just one shoe! Minnie Andrews and Amelie Ivie both finished in the top ten in the Intermediate Girls and Bea Wells and Nora Ostergaard did the same for the Seniors. Minnie and Bea went on to represent Norfolk at the National Championships in Pontefract where they both ran extremely competitively against high quality fields.

The East Anglian League began at Mousehold Heath for our home fixture, which saw Spencer Gray come 4th and Bea 2nd. The torrential rain of the Gresham’s fixture will live long in the memories of those who were there but didn’t slow down the Intermediate Boys, who had 3 of the top 5 with Arthur Dannatt coming 2nd, Thomas Chester sliding his way to 4th and Jeremy Lo in 5th. In contrast, the following week saw sunny conditions for the 5.5km race in Ipswich, for which the Girls Team were out in force with six runners. Bea took 1st place with Amelie Ivie coming 3rd. Madison Kelly, Tabby Albery, Megan Davis and Sophie Bush also ran well to secure the team win. In the final RHS fixture, Jeremy Lo, who completed all four races this season, finish 6th. Tabby Albery also came 6th in the Senior Girls’ race and for the Senior Boys, Jacob Stevenson had another good race, finishing strongly in 7th. The Girls won the series Team Prize and Bea took the Senior Girls prize for the second year running.

After a rewarding Cup Run for our runners, the Cross Country Club enjoyed a well-earned post-season dinner where the following awards were announced -

Most Improved: Tabby Albery

Most enthusiastic: Sophie Bush

Best race performance: Minnie Andrews

Most committed: Jeremy Lo.

Well done to everyone who has represented the Cross Country team - or who has just enjoyed a run with us - this season.