

Norwich School

DEVESON MUSIC PRIZES 2017

Michael Nicholas - adjudicator

Tuesday 13th June 2017 Chapel



After school in London, Michael Nicholas read music at Oxford, where he was Organ Scholar of Jesus College. His first post was at Louth, Lincolnshire, followed by six years at the famous church of St Matthew, Northampton. In 1971, he took up the post of Organist and Master of the Choristers at Norwich Cathedral. For the next twenty-three years, he directed the cathedral choir in eleven foreign tours and many concerts, broadcasts and recordings, in addition to maintaining a high standard at the seven weekly choral services. He founded the Norwich Festival of Contemporary Church Music in 1981 and commissioned many new pieces. He also conducted the Norwich Philharmonic Chorus, the Triennial Festival Chorus and the Cathedral Chamber Choir and was a part-time Lecturer in Music at the University of East Anglia.

In 1994, he became the first Chief Executive of the Royal College of Organists, for three years leading the process of modernisation of the College's work. He left the College in 1997 in order to extend his work as a performing musician and examiner. East Anglia once again became the focus of his activities when in 1999 he took up the post of Organist and Director of Music at the Civic Church of St Mary-le-Tower, Ipswich.

His solo organ recordings, made on the organ of Norwich Cathedral, were released on the Decca, Vista and Meridian labels and Michael has given recitals in the United States and Canada as well as in many of the Cathedrals and College Chapels of this country. Besides touring abroad with his choirs from Norwich and Ipswich, he has conducted choirs in Australia, Canada, France and the USA. He has also published a number of compositions and arrangements for choir and/or organ. Now living in Norfolk again, he continues to have a busy freelance career as organist, choir director and music examiner.

Lower Four Music Prize - 10.00 - c. 10.30

Andrew Jozefcyk L4B James Bond Theme piano

Monty Norman

Amy Griffiths L4B Accompanied by Posy Walton Dove Sei voice

George Frideric Handel

Amelia Polansky L4E piano Rondo (3rd mov. from Sonata in E, Op.14 No.1)

Ludwig van Beethoven

Alastair Wyllie L4P Accompanied by Andrew Weeks Jazz Music for Beetles alto saxophone

Ned Bennett

Eva Lamb L4V voice Accompanied by Richard Allain I Dreamed a Dream (from Les Misérables)

Claude-Michel Schönberg

Adjudicator's comments and the announcement of the Lower Four Prize winner

Junior Music Prize (U4 - L5) - 10.30 - c. 12.15

Zen Lau U4P piano Willie Wagglestick's Walkabout Brian Bonsor Alex Dixon U4V voice Accompanied by Richard Allain Where' er You Walk George Frideric Handel Ashley Thorpe L5B piano Prelude in C sharp Minor, Op.3, No.2 Sergei Rachmaninoff Alice Palmer L5C voice Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp Antonio Caldara Sebben Crudele Kitty Taylor L5C voice Accompanied by Richard Allain Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again Andrew Lloyd Webber Alice Palmer L5C clarinet Meditation James Rae

Charlotte Pollard L5P <i>Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp</i> Deh Vieni, Non Tardar	voice Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Harvey Sillitoe L5P <i>Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp</i> Mambo (from West Side Story)	flute Leonard Bernstein
George Corson L5P Lento Con Gran Expressione (Noctu	piano urne) Frédéric Chopin
Charlotte Pollard L5P Nocturne in C sharp Minor	piano Frédéric Chopin
Brooke Elley L5P <i>Accompanied by Posy Walton</i> Aria	saxophone Eugène Bozza
Emily Cahir L5S <i>Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp</i> Scherzo (from Four Characteristic F	clarinet Vieces) William Hurlstone
Brooke Elley L5P <i>Accompanied by Posy Walton</i> Amarilli	voice Giullo Caccini

Daniel Possener L5S voice Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp Dream Valley

Roger Quilter

Sophia Basset L5C cello Accompanied by David Neil Jones Elegy

Carl Davis

Edward Maxwell-Preston U4P cello Accompanied by David Neil Jones Elégie

Gabriel Fauré

Adjudicator's comments and the announcement of the Junior Prize winner

Intermediate Prize (M5 - U5) - 1:30 - 2:45

Amy Buck M5P <i>Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp</i> Forlana (from Five Bagatelles)	clarine	t Gerald Finzi
James Thistlewood M5B <i>Accompanied by Katie Grote</i> Cavatine	trombo	one Camille Saint-Saëns
Ella Bartram M5C Accompanied by David Neil Jones Greenfinch and Linnet Bird	voice	Stephen Sondheim
Katja Ruda M5E <i>Accompanied by Katie Grote</i> Largo (from Sonata in C Minor)	violin	Francesco Geminiani
Heather Tasker M5N Allegretto (from Sonata in F, Op. 4, I	piano No 6)	Muzio Clementi
Alice Wollocombe M5N Accompanied by Posy Walton Reflection		voice Mathew Wilder

Conall Moffat M5P voice Accompanied by Andrew Weeks The Silver Swan Orlando Gibbons Ranya Kumar M5P flute Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp Allegro non troppo Wilhelm Popp Ranya Kumar M5P violin Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp Romance, Op. 26 Johan Svendsen Sam Briggs M5S guitar Mirage Manus Noble Jonathan Jolly U5S organ Prière à Notre Dame Léon Boëllmann India Riordan U5B trumpet 1st mov. from Trumpet Concerto in E flat Johann Baptist Georg Neruda Jonathan Jolly U5S alto saxophone Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp Samba Triste (1st mov. from 'Three Piece Suite') **Richard Rodney** Bennett

Senior Prize (L6 - U6) - 2:45 - c.4:00 pm

Caitlin Obee L6B <i>Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp</i> Fantasie	flute	Philippe Gaubert
Eloise Cubbin L6C Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp Non Posso Disperar	voice	Giovanni Battista Bononcini
Kai Miller L6E Accompanied by Jonathan Stamp 1st mov. from Cello Concerto in C N	cello ⁄lajor	Joseph Haydn
Olivia Keable L6S Accompanied by Posy Walton Losing My Mind	voice	Stephen Sondheim
Rebecca Elkins U6N <i>Accompanied by David Dunnett</i> Come Away Death	voice	Roger Quilter
Tad Davies U6P Prelude in C sharp Minor, Op. 3 No.	2	Sergei Rachmaninoff

Nicholas Koch U6P cello Accompanied by David Neil Jones Cello Sonata in D Minor, Op. 40 No. 2 Allegro Dimitri Shostokovich

Tad Davies U6P Accompanied by Jeremy Davies Air Valaques

flute

Franz Doppler

Adjudicator's comments and the announcement of the Senior Prize winner

Deveson Music Prizes

The Deveson Music Prizes were endowed in 1984 by the parents of James Deveson (ON). The music department was then in its infancy and, at that time, only the House Music Festival provided the opportunity for solo performers to be assessed by an outside adjudicator.

The Deveson Prize replaced the earlier 'Lumb Prize for musical performance'. Two extra categories have been added over the years - the Intermediate and Lower 4 prizes. The event has traditionally been held in the Trinity term.

Deveson Adjudicators

1984 Brian Sargent 1985 1986 1987 David Price 1988 Adrian Lucas 1989 Pat Clouting 1990 Colin Clouting 1991 Bill Lovell 1992 Eric Stapleton 1993 Peter Noyce 1994 Hilary Weiland 1995 Peter Crompton 1996 Robert Gower 1997 Philip Coates 1998 Brian Lincoln 1999 Andrew Leach 2000 Anthony Joule

2001 Mark Jones 2002 John Penny 2003 James Recknell 2004 Christian Stirling 2005 Miles Neville ON 2006 Jeremy Foster ON 2007 Rebecca Wade 2008 Jane Huntingdon 2009 Robert Houssart ON 2010 Richard Allain 2011 Philip Dukes 2012 Christopher Hopkins ON 2013 John Harle 2014 Katherine Jenkinson 2015 Rob Goodrich 2016 Colin Dowdeswell 2017 Michael Nicholas

Upcoming Music Events

Wednesday 28th June Royal Norfolk Show Senior Concert Band, Senior Jazz Band and Saxology on the Main Bandstand

Friday 30th June Gateway Players Orchestral Concert Open 7:00pm

> Wednesday 5th July The Norwich School Gala Lower Close 7:30pm

Thursday 6th July Chapel Choir sing Choral Vigil Norwich Cathedral 8.30pm

For more information visit norwich-school.org.uk





Facebook: Norwich School • Twitter: @NorwichSchool • Instagram: norwich_school